Rafael Nadal fell behind early in the first set, but rallied to win 6-4, 6-1. (Julian Finney/Getty Images)
Rafael Nadal was not happy after receiving a time violation during his second-round match at the Monte Carlo Masters and the eight-time Monte Carlo champion let chair umpire Pascal Maria know it.
Nadal had won the first set and was up 4-0 on Teymuraz Gabashvili when the two played one of the best points of the mach at 30-all; it ended with a Gabashvili hitting a winner into the open court after a 24-shot rally. Nadal took his time to catch his breath before serving down break point, and Maria issued Nadal his second time violation of the match, resulting in the loss of a first serve. Gabashvili then broke Nadal.
As Nadal walked back to his bench he wagged his finger at the chair umpire and proceeded to tell him he was wrong to give him the violation at that point in the match (players are allowed 25 seconds between points) because the two had just played a long rally.
“Put the watch there [pointing on court] and then you don’t have to do nothing, Pascal,” Nadal said, implying the chair umpire needed to use his discretion as opposed to just count the seconds on the clock.